Tech Growth Fueled by Online and Mobile Device Demand

For the first time ever, the six most valuable companies in the world, by market cap, were all technology companies.

Apple, Google (Alphabet), Microsoft, Facebook, Amazon and Alibaba Group have a total market cap of $3.5 trillion. That’s more than the next 12 companies combined. (Market cap as of 9/18/17)

Technology Revolutionizes Service Industries

The percentage of services conducted online (email vs mail, video streaming vs DVD’s) will continue to grow. Online product offerings continue to create obsolescence in traditional services. IBIS World forecasts that by 2024 over 26% of services will be conducted online, compared to just 6% in 2010.

Mobile Devices Democratize Internet Access and Demand

The number of mobile internet connections is estimated to increase from 277.5 million in 2016 to 448.7 million in 2024. The demand for mobile/smart devices increased 62% over 8 years and continues to drive explosive growth for internet and technology-based companies. (Source: IBIS World)

If you have comments or questions about this article, or would like more information on this subject matter, please contact us.

Largest Transactions Closed

  • Target
  • Buyer
  • Value($mm)
Andre Sutherland

 

Andre Sutherland

Valuation

Orlando Office

407-621-2119 (direct)

asutherland@pcecompanies.com

Connect
407-621-2119 (direct)

407-621-2199 (fax)

Daniel Kvarnberg

 

Daniel Kvarnberg

Valuation

Orlando Office

407-621-2132 (direct)

dkvarnberg@pcecompanies.com

Connect
407-621-2132 (direct)

407-621-2199 (fax)

David Jasmund

 

David Jasmund

Investment Banking | ESOP

Orlando Office

407-621-2111 (direct)

djasmund@pcecompanies.com

Connect
407-621-2111 (direct)

407-621-2199 (fax)

Eric Zaleski

 

Eric Zaleski

Investment Banking | ESOP

Chicago Office

847-239-2466 (direct)

ezaleski@pcecompanies.com

Connect
847-239-2466 (direct)

407-621-2199 (fax)

Melissa Ritter

 

Melissa Ritter

Investment Banking

Orlando Office

407-621-2128 (direct)

mritter@pcecompanies.com

Connect
407-621-2128 (direct)

407-621-2199 (fax)

Michael Rosendahl

 

Michael Rosendahl

Investment Banking

New York Office

201-444-6280 Ext 1 (direct)

mrosendahl@pcecompanies.com

Connect
201-444-6280 Ext 1 (direct)

407-621-2199 (fax)

Will Stewart

 

Will Stewart

Investment Banking | ESOP

Orlando Office

407-621-2124 (direct)

wstewart@pcecompanies.com

Connect
407-621-2124 (direct)

407-621-2199 (fax)

whitcomb-woody

 

Woody Whitcomb

Investment Banking

Orlando Office

407-621-2113 (direct)

wwhitcomb@pcecompanies.com

Connect
407-621-2113 (direct)

407-621-2199 (fax)

poole_michael

 

Michael Poole

Investment Banking

Orlando Office

407-621-2112 (direct)

mpoole@pcecompanies.com

Connect
407-621-2112 (direct)

407-621-2199 (fax)

vogt-paul

 

Paul Vogt

Valuation

Atlanta Office

678-641-4760 (direct)

pvogt@pcecompanies.com

Connect
678-641-4760 (direct)

407-621-2199 (fax)

    Services

    Industries

    Subscribe to PCE Communications

    Choose Your Subscription